Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins


Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins is the second book in the Hunger Games. Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark have won the annual Hunger Games and are living a life of fame, but they are also living in a fake romance that might just be real. Katniss is forced to take on the role of a rebel against the Capitol. Because of this, Katniss and Peeta are going back into the arena.
The Hunger Games books are just okay in my opinion. They are wonderfully written and fast paced and all that good stuff, but they are a little too gruesome for me. The Hunger Games are when the Capitol randomly picks 2 kids from every district to fight to the death in a crazy arena filled with death traps. As you can see, it can get gross. I can see how so many people love them, but they are just not really my thing.
READ-O-METER: 7/10

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Bleagh Bad Book! #1


Blue Moon by Alyson Noel (there are those two little dots above the E in her last name, I just can't figure out how to put them there) started out okay. This is the second book in the Immortals series, the first being Evermore. Evermore was actually enjoyable.
But all heck broke loose in Blue Moon.
This book is just plain confusing. I'm not going to get into the details, but basically this girl is immortal and has to save her immortal boyfriend from being "normal" by going between dimensions to a place called Summerland. And I'm being general.
I know this is a little unfair, but I read the back part where there is the excerpt for the next book. I'm not going to say what happens, but I was like COME ON! Here's the unfair part: I thought to myself, "Well now that I know that happens, there's no need to read the rest of this book."
And I didn't.
That concludes B.B.B. #1.

I Need to Be More Mean

I feel like I'm being to happy.
Every single one of my real reviews so far have been over 8/10 on the READ-O-METER. Please don't feel like aren't books out there that I don't like.
Because trust me, there are.
I'm now going to post reviews on books that I haven't finished because they were so bad, even though I can't list them in my big list. (list, list, list, list)
If I finish a book and I still don't like it, I will still do a review and put it on my list. But this all happened to us before: this book is just so bad, you have to put it down.
So be ready for those kinds of reviews coming soon!

Princess in Love by Meg Cabot


Princess in Love by Meg Cabot is the third book in the Princess Diaries series. Mia tries to figure out how to break up with her bio partner, Kenny, who *SPOILER ALERT IF YOU HAVEN'T READ THE END OF THE SECOND BOOK YET* was her secret admirer sending her love notes. Mia instead has feelings for her best friend Lilly's brother, Michael.
See my review for Princess in the Spotlight for how I feel about this book, it's exactly the same.
READ-O-METER: 10/10 (again, really!)

Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot


Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot is the second book in the Princess Diaries. In this book, Mia is adjusting to her new life as a princess pretty well, until she is scheduled for an interview with one of the top talk shows in the nation. Mia reveals some pretty embarrassing things accidentally in the interview, one of those things being that her mother is pregnant with her Algebra teacher's baby. Mia's dowager princess Grandmother decides to throw a huge wedding for Mia's mom and boyfriend. Along with the stress of the wedding, Mia begins to recieve love notes from her secret admirer.
I finished this book in three hours. It isn't that it's an amazing book that is just so amazing you can't put it down, but this book has something great about it that makes you not want to stop reading it. I can't wait for the rest of the series!
READ-O-METER: 10/10 (really!)

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Along For the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Along For the Ride is about an academically obsessed girl named Auden. Her parents went through an ugly divorce, and her dad's new wife just had a baby. Auden decides to spend the summer at their house in Colby, a quaint beachside town. Every little detail of her parents separation comes back to haunt her as her dad and step-mom go through some rough times as baby Thisbe gets older. Auden gets introduced to the world of girls as she works at Heidi's boutique in town. She has never known anything about gossip, shopping, or boys. Auden's insomnia causes her to meet Eli, a mysterious yet different guy who has some secrets of his own. They bond over their own personal quests: for Auden, making up for all of the childhood activities she missed out on because her mom got her started on academics so fast, and for Eli, getting over the guilt of the death of a close friend.
This book was extremely intriguing and very well written. At times it was a boring read and it didn't have to be so long, but it was worth the time. I recommend all of Sarah Dessen's books, and this was one of my favorites of hers.
READ-O-METER: 9/10

Sunday, October 3, 2010

TTYL by Lauren Myracle


TTYL by Lauren Myracle is a book unlike any other. It is written in only instant messages, which makes it a fun but surprisingly longer read (or maybe it's just me). This book follows 3 best friends through November of their sophomore year in high school. One gets down in the dumps about a guy, one gets in cahoots with her teacher, and one encounters Queen Bee troubles. It's amazing how an entire friendship can change through instant messaging. Through all of their personal troubles, the girls come through with helping their own friendship stay strong. This is more of a mature read, I'd say 13 and up. Overall a humourous book that's very enjoyable to read.
READ-O-METER: 8/10
P.S. How'd you like my first real entry? I enjoyed writing it! TTYL! (haha)

Happy October!

Hi everyone, and really, happy October! October and November are my favorite months of the year other than December. Fall is so nice and pretty, and I know this is weird, but everything smells good! Especially my Bath and Body Works candles...
I just wanted to say that real reviews are coming soon and are going to be here to stay from now on. Hope you enjoy them!
What's your favorite month?

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Books I have Already Read

Here's the list of books I have already read to meet my goal of 100:
1. Forever in Blue*
2. Mary Poppins
3. Paisley Hanover Kisses and Tells
4. Mary Poppins Comes Back
5. Nicholas
6. Island of the Aunts*
7. How my Private, Personal Journal became a Best-Seller
8. Getting the Boot
9. The Help*
10. Speak*
11. Lush
12. Nicholas and the Gang
13. The Face on the Milk Carton
14. Just Listen
15. Hazel Green
16. Bartlett and the Ice Voyage
17. And Then There Were None*
18. The Princess Diaries*
19. Life as We Knew It
20. Evermore
21. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle
22. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle's Magic

* Books I highly recommend, and if it's not that challenging, I recommend it for a younger level.

I know those last two were a little young for me, but the Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books are simply splendid for all ages. Others on the list might be like that too, that's why I counted them. That's my list so far!

Alright, New Goal That Will Actually Happen.

Don't say it.
Don't say a word.
I know, I'm disappointed in myself, too. But I didn't miss my posts as much as you guys did, I'm sure.
So while I was thinking in my free time not writing blogs, I thought of goals I could set for myself. Many things came into my mind, but I don't want to say them here, because they are kind of weird. One stuck like glue: to read 100 books by the end of the school year, June 6 or 7 or 8. If that's too easy, I will read 200 books. I know that sounds like a lot, but I am a fast reader and I also count EVERY single book I read cover to cover, even if it's not exactly my level of reading. But no magazines, online articles, or anything else. Just good old fashion books. Including books we are reading in school. Joy.
So I started to complete this goal, not realizing I still have a blog to tend to. I have read 22 books at the moment, and I started around the very middle of August, when my library summer book club ended. I will make a new post of all the books I have read with a little astrich if I highly recommmend them. For every new book I read, I will post a picture and a review. The books I read range from age levels, but they are mostly high school or teen reads. Ha ha.
Feel free to read my other posts if you want to see an example of an epic fail in blogging.

Saturday, April 3, 2010

I'm Back!

Alright, it's set now.
I will have Wi-Fi for, like, the rest of the month. So tons of blog posts for you guys!
I'm kind of feeling bad for you guys right now, because there isn't really any inspiration for me today. Today, I finished the car ride from Florida to my house, which is a REALLY long drive, as I have already complained to you. We stopped at a gas station to stretch our legs and go to the bathroom. When we walked to the restrooms, we walked by a shower. Yes, you heard right. A shower. In a gas station. Turns out you can get a little slip saying your like shower customer number 11, and they call you on the loudspeaker. "Shower customer number 11, the shower is open now." I'm totally serious. I guess truckers who are on the road for like a week don't get to scrub clean, so they have to take their showers in gas station.
I'm almost barfing right up on my computer.
You know that the little I-pass things you use to get through the highway gate things? Well, I just figured out that you can only use them in your original state. We tried to use ours in Florida, but they made us pay $2.50! What a rip off. I mean we are already paying so much for gas and taxes, they don't need to rip us off of any more cash.
Well, I don't want to turn into a politician. Sorry for the short blog, I didn't have my creative blog juices flowing today. Maybe it was the worst sleep I have ever had at a Hampton Inn. They even told us how comfortable their beds were. Lies, I tell you, all lies! :)

Friday, April 2, 2010

Rules Were Meant for Breaking

Well, it's true.
Okay, okay. The guilt is getting to me. So I haven't done a blog everyday for, like the past week. But, in my defense, there was no way of getting Wi-Fi in where I was in Florida. I would have to pack up my laptop and go to a Starbucks or a cafe or something like that. But it wasn't really worth getting off of the GORGEOUS beach of Santa Maria, which was, even though no one's counting, about a 30 second walk from our house to the beach.
No, I'm serious.
As much as I wanted to write a blog post (For real! No sarcasm there. I'm serious), I physically couldn't get off the white sands. Yes, they were really white! If you ever have a chance to go to the Beaches of South Walton, go. They are absolutely amazing and I think one of them is voted one of the best beaches in America.
Not only did they have great beaches, but they are all near fantastic restaurants, huge malls, and a bike rental place about every mile. But I don't want to sound like a vacation brochure or a thesaurus page for amazing.
Anyways, I was thinking about what I could do to make it up to you guys, for not doing a blog a day and all, and I got to thinking about shaycarl, the guy who makes a video everyday and puts it on Youtube. He kind of has it easy, because he doesn't need Wi-Fi for the first half of the process, but then he actually has to put the video up on the website of Youtube. Wow, I sounded old there.
But I decided to make a new promise to myself, that kind of puts me on the honor system. I will make a blog everyday that I have access to the internet. So as you can see, I can obviously get lazy and say that my internet was down or some lame excuse like that, but it's not going to happen. Nuh-uh. No sirree-bob, whatever that means.
Quick update: I'm now staying in a Hampton Inn, which is a lot worse in quality than our good ol' Best Western Express, or whatever it was. But for now, I just want to get through our 10 hour drive ahead of us. The whole time I will be thinking about what I will write about for my next blog... just kidding! Just kidding to the just kidding. Oh, forget it. :)

Friday, March 26, 2010

We're Halfway There cont.

Read my last blog to get the full blog you deserve.
After our 8 hour mark, we stopped at Tennessee where we checked into a Holiday Inn Express, even though I see no difference between a Holiday Inn and a Holiday Inn Express. When we got to our room, I was surprised to see it was actually kind of nice, with 2 double beds, a flat screen TV, a microwave (!), and free Wi-Fi, which is nice considering the fact that I just made a promise to my self to do a daily blog no matter what. Oh, just a warning: I might not have wireless where we are staying in Florida, which might be bad for my blog. But don't worry, I will try and make it work.
Anyways, after we settled into the hotel room, we figured out we were just a couple blocks away from The Country Music Hall of Fame, so we went there for a while. It was actually really cool, but I found a lot of people doing the "Museum Walk". This is where people walk in your path, but they seem to take their time and take their steps one inch at a time, examining the exhibits. It drives me crazy! Other than that, I enjoyed seeing all of the Gold and Platinum records of the few country singers I have actually heard of. I hate to be negative, but I'm not that huge of a country fan, and I didn't know half of the people they exhibited. (Is that a word?) After the Hall of Fame, we went to a DELICIOUS restaurant called Jack's Bar-B-Que. The ribs were positively scrumptious, for lack of a better word.
So after we came back, I decided to write this blog and read some books. As I look out my window to the beautiful view of an alley, trash cans, and parking lot, I think about what hotel makes a room with such a great view. The Holiday Inn Express, of course. :)

We're Halfway There

Well, today was a surprisingly exhausting day, considering the fact that I was in a car for 8 hours. Yes, you heard right. 8 hours. And tomorrow, there's another exciting 8 hours ahead of us. 5 of those 8 will be the same as today, with my dad, but the last 3 hours we are picking up my sister and mom at a Florida airport and driving the rest of the way with them. (I'm not sure which airport!) Did I mention our destination? We rented a house on the beach in the north western side of Florida on the Gulf of Mexico. I just reread that sentence, and that was a lot of "on's"! Anyways, the drive wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, because I either slept or dozed off a lot of the time. That goes opposite for my poor dad, having to stay awake and alert AND in a cramped position for 8 hours.
While we drove, we came into some heavy traffic with only 100 miles left to go. We passed by a terrible accident, where the car had burst into flames. Then, two minutes and two miles later, we passed by ANOTHER accident, where a car had driven into the ditch between highways. You could see the tracks it made. Luckily, there was no more traffic after that, but we prayed the rest of the way for the people in the accidents.
I think I'm going to make this continued into a second blog, because it was such a long day! (It actually surprisingly was!)

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Anxiously waiting...

Hello, everyone! I know this is the second blog post in 1 day, but the one before this was from yesterday and I just forgot to publish it.
Tomorrow I am waking up at 5 o'clock to drive to Florida, a REALLY long drive from where I live. But I am "anxiously waiting" for the warmth of the Florida sun. Right now, where I live, it should be in the 60's. But its in the 40's!!!
After school today, (yes, I'm in school) I came home to an empty house so I started watching shaycarl on Youtube. If you haven't seen him before, he and his family make daily vlogs (blog + video! What are those called? Something + stuff= stuthing? Like that?) and he has the cutest kids on the planet. Anyways, I started to think about what I could do everyday for a year. Stupid me, sitting in front of my computer, on my blog, writing about my life for 2 days in a row, not noticing the PERFECTLY GOOD BLOG IN FRONT OF ME! Yes, it's true. I am now going to start a daily blog, even though that's what most people do.
Question to ponder: If we had past lives, or we were reincarnated, why can't we remember our life before this one? I know it's a kind of a dark question, but it's still a good question to think about to make you think about other questions and other questions and so on and so on... :)
See you tomorrow!

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

First post!!!

Well, here goes.
My first blog post.

Ever.
Pretty intense, right?

Well, let's start with the basics. First off, my username isn't butt on, as some people I know think. It's my dog's name, Button, followed by some numbers that mean nothing to me. How I remember it, don't ask. Anyways, to keep from being too unsafe my name is Natalie, and I'm not going to tell you my last name. (Duh.) I figure, like in the Wimpy Kid books, when the day comes that I am rich and famous, this blog will come in handy. I'll just tell em' the URL and they can read all about my life before stardom. That's another thing.

My birthday is on March 16, so I decided (kind of late, isn't it?) to start a blog for my ___ year. (Another safety precaution.) I figure, what's gonna happen? You probably want to know what I like to do. I like to act, sing, dance, and read. Of course that's not all, just the big things that come into my head. Oh, and I also start (and rarely finish) useless goals and collections. Let's hope this isn't one.

To end the post on a happier note, my spring break is in only 1 day. I leave for a car trip to Florida! Finally, nothing stressful for a week. Except for this blog... just kidding! :)